Slippers that make me come alive

My creativity hasn’t been limited to the kitchen. I’ve been enjoying knitting for the past few months, and have at last completed a project! … wool slippers to keep my feet warm on these cold country floors. And I’m constantly reminded that, whether it’s making yogurt, muffins, or garlic pesto, or knitting, or seeding plants, what’s important is that I’m loving what I’m doing.

For me, farm life is not a sacrifice, it’s truly living well – as Shannon Hayes tells us in Radical Homemakers, and as all the urban and rural homesteaders and Transitioners attest to. Partly because it’s living lighter on the earth, disentangling from the carbon-based, exploitation-based multinational market economy, and creating the life-giving economy; and partly because it’s my kind of fun! …

Because… I’m finding myself more and more trying to live by the philosophy – expressed well by American theologian and philosopher Howard Thurman – “Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive”!

1 thought on “Slippers that make me come alive

  1. Oh these look cozy! I am still working on my sweater and socks – just back from weekend in Ottawa for tulip festival. I didn’t take my knitting on the train though.

Leave a comment